County Commissioner Henry Dean Recognized by St. Johns River Water Management District

St. Johns County Commissioner Henry Dean was recognized by the St. Johns River Water Management District (SJRWMD) during presentations at the April 16 St. Johns County Board of County Commission meeting for Water Conservation Month. Dean served as the Executive Director of the SJRWMD for 17 years.

Douglas Conkey, SJRWMD Intergovernmental Coordinator, said, “To quote Commissioner Dean back in 1986 from the SJRWMD annual report ‘The business of water management is a continuous and ongoing responsibility. We remain committed to doing all that is necessary to safeguard and enhance our bountiful water resources.’ I thank you for your leadership and passion to serve, both then and now.”

Conkey shared that Dean’s leadership laid the groundwork for conservation as SJRWMD is now approaching 800,000 acres of land it owns or manages in partnership with other agencies. Approximately 98% of these lands are open to the public. Conkey noted other District accomplishments during Dean’s tenure at SJRWMD:

  • 1989: The District lab opens and today collects approximately 16 million samples a year.
  • 1991: District-wide water conservation rule is issued for outdoor irrigation before 10 a.m. or after 4 p.m.
  • 2000: The first long-term water supply plan is published for the District.

He also shared that from 1984 to 2001, the District was instrumental in acquiring more than 125,000 acres in lower St. Johns River and northern coastal basins of the SJRWMD.

The recognition of Commissioner Dean was preceded by a proclamation that was presented to celebrate April as National Water Conservation Month. This included Creekside High School 9th Grader, Saniya Aleem being honored as the 3rd place winner of the Florida Section of the American Water Works Association Drop Savers Poster Contest. The poster contest allows students to have fun and at the same time promote the importance of water conservation in their homes. Each participant had to submit an entry on a letter size paper showing a slogan, drawing, or combination of a water conservation idea.

This is the 26 year of the proclamation which was started while Commissioner Dean was the Executive Director of the SJRWMD.